Who Does What?

Middlesex County Building, Queen's Park and Parliament Hill

Learn how services are shared by the Federal, Provincial, County and Local Municipal Governments within the County of Middlesex.


The County of Middlesex provides services across 8 local municipalities, including:

  • Economic Development and Tourism
  • Emergency Management
  • Paramedic Services
  • County Planning and Development
  • County Roads, Bridges, Traffic Signals and Controls
  • Social Services
  • Long Term Care Services
  • Forestry and Natural Heritage
  • Library
Local Municipality

Local municipalities (cities, towns, villages, townships) have their own municipal governments to provide local services. These services include:

  • Animal Control
  • By-law Enforcement
  • Building Services (Permits)
  • Drainage
  • Municipal Elections
  • Fire Protection and Prevention
  • Policing
  • Licensing 
  • Local Road Services (Streets and Sidewalks)
  • Local planning and zoning
  • Parks and Recreation
  • Property Tax Administration
  • Waste and Recycling
  • Water and Wastewater Services

Need to contact your local municipality? Find a list of the 8 local municipalities located within Middlesex County, visit the Municipality Page.

Provincial Government

Each province has its own government that delivers services that relate to that province.

Services include:

  • Administration of Justice
  • Environment
  • Education
  • Health
  • Natural Resources
  • Property and Civil Rights
  • Community and Social Services
Federal Government

One government that delivers services relating to the entire country.

Services include:

  • Census
  • Citizenship
  • Copyright Law
  • Criminal Law
  • National Defence
  • External and International Relations
  • Employment Insurance
  • Indigenous Affairs
  • Money and Banking
  • Postal Service
  • Transportation
  • Income Tax